Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services welcomes volunteers throughout the department on a variety of levels.

Environmental Restoration

Park Stewards are active in many Shoreline parks removing invasive plants and restoring the native habitat. Join a work party near you.
Contact: Tony Hamilton thamilton@shorelinewa.gov (206) 801-2615

Washington Native Plant Stewards Work Party Schedule

Community Garden Volunteer Opportunities

Every year since 2012, volunteers at Twin Ponds and Sunset Community Gardens have been planting, watering, weeding, harvesting, weighing, packaging, and delivering fresh, organic produce to local food banks for members of the Shoreline community affected by food insecurity.

Volunteers are always needed to help with all aspects of the food bank gardens, from planting to delivery. If you would like to learn more about how to get involved please visit shorelinewa.gov/communitygarden

Special Events

Shoreline hosts a variety of events throughout the year for the community to enjoy. Volunteers are needed to help set up, take down, and support a variety of activities. (See also Kruckeberg Botanic Garden - below).
Contact: Pam Barrett pbarrett@shorelinewa.gov (206) 801- 2634
Visit the website

Shoreline Walks

Volunteer Walk Leaders (individuals and groups) are crucial to the success of Shoreline Walks. If you have a favorite 1 to 3 mile walking route and would be interested in sharing your knowledge by leading a group we hope you'll let us know.
Contact: Marianne Johnson mjohnson@shorelinewa.gov (206) 801-2638
Visit the website

Specialized Recreation

If you have a heart for Shoreline's special populations consider volunteering to partner with program participants in games, activities, and gardening.
Contact: Molly Harrigan mharrigan@shorelinewa.gov (206) 571-2971
Visit the website

Youth and Teen Development

Assist staff with teen events and programs.
Contact: Amanda Zollner azollner@shorelinewa.gov (206) 801-2641
Visit the website

Public Art

Volunteers are always welcome to help with art openings, installations, and events
Contact: David Francis dfrancis@shorelinewa.gov (206) 801-2661
Visit the website

Kruckeberg Botanic Garden

Love to garden? Kruckeberg Botanic Garden is a publicly-owned Shoreline park that is managed by the Kruckeberg Botanic Garden Foundation and volunteers are always welcome for a variety of garden needs.
Contact: Joe Abken joe@kruckeberg.org
Visit the website

Special Events at the Garden

Spooky Night: The weekend before Halloween on Friday and Saturday from 4:30 - 8:30 p.m.

Solstice Stroll: December 13 - 15 and 20 - 22, 2018 from 4:30 - 8:30 p.m.

Volunteers are needed to help decorate, set up, clean up, greet visitors, staffing refreshment booths, monitor parking, and more.  Contact Heidi at Heidi@kruckeberg.org or call the garden at 206-546-1281.

Aquatics

The Shoreline Pool offers classes and educational opportunities for the whole community. Check with staff to see how you can help.
Contact: James McCrackin jmccrackin@shorelinewa.gov (206) 801-2656
Visit the website

Earth Day and Arbor Day

Interested in participating in community-wide efforts to celebrate the natural environment? Check the City Calendar for opportunities.
Contact: Kirk Peterson kpeterson@shorelinewa.gov (206) 801-2611

Boards and Committees

Citizen advisory boards and committees advise the City Council and staff on issues important to the City. Opportunities are published in Currents and on the City's main webpage.
Contact: Lynn Gabrieli lgabrieli@shorelinewa.gov (206) 801-2602

Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services/Tree Board