Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Currents - A complete archive of the City's newsletter.

City earns APWA accreditation

Post Date:09/20/2017

The American Public Works Association (APWA) recently awarded accreditation to the City’s Public Works Department. The prestigious APWA Accreditation program recognizes public works agencies in the United States and Canada whose management practices exceed established requirements. APWA evaluated Shoreline on 324 practice areas and we were “Fully Compliant” on every one of them, which is a rare feat.

Achieving accreditation means the Public Works Department complies with recommended practices set forth in the Public Works Practice Manual, the nationally recognized manual for public works agencies.

“The awarding of the APWA Accreditation shows we have dedicated ourselves to concepts of improvement and in-depth self-assessment of department policies, procedures, and practices,” stated Shoreline Public Works Director Randy Witt. “The heroes of this prestigious APWA award are the public works staff whose mission is to provide public works services and programs that contribute to making City of Shoreline a great community.”

Shoreline initially applied for accreditation in August 2014 and worked diligently to complete the self-assessment process over two plus years.

The Shoreline Public Works Department is responsible for improving and maintaining city streets, sidewalks, and drainage systems. New facilities and improvements are planned and built through the Capital Improvement Program. The Operations Program maintains and operates the City’s street and drainage infrastructure, and provides right-of-way management.

The Shoreline Public Works Department is the 126th agency in North America to be awarded APWA Accreditation and is the eighth accredited agency in Washington. In addition to Shoreline, the other accredited agencies in Washington are Anacortes, Bellevue, Clark Regional Wastewater District, Kitsap County, Pierce County, Tacoma, and Thurston County.


Return to full list >>